Building Commission


The 2012 Indiana Energy Code is available for download


Building Permits Online Search!


The Tippecanoe County Building Commission office reviews and issues permits for building construction, fills, demolitions, and electrics.
We are responsible for most of Tippecanoe County
excluding Union Township (Shadeland),
the City of Lafayette,
and West Lafayette.
Building permits for the cities of Battle Ground, Clarks Hill, or Dayton, are issued through the Area Plan Commission office (765-423-9242).


When applying for a permit, include a copy of your building and site plans for review. The Building Commissioner is allowed up to 10 days to review plans. Acceptable payment for permits is by check or cash (exact amount only) until 3:30 p.m. daily. A 24-hour notice is required for all inspections to ensure you are in compliance with local ordinances and state adopted codes. A permit is valid for two years but is required to be started within the first year.


The Building Commission office has acquired the Zoning Enforcement Department. We will investigate written and signed complaints of violations of the Tippecanoe County Zoning Ordinance. This office will investigate violations within Tippecanoe County limits. For the city of Lafayette, please call (765) 807-1050 and for West Lafayette, please call (765) 775-5130. Complaints may either be mailed to our office at 20 North 3rd Street, Lafayette, IN 47901 or filed in person. Upon receiving a completed complaint, an investigation will be activated by our office.


If you have any questions, please call our office at 765-423-9225 during our business hours of 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Our inspectors are in the office between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. for assistance.
A list of the current codes being enforced in Tippecanoe County can be found at

Contact Us

County Office Building
Basement Floor
20 N 3rd St
Lafayette, IN 47901
Get Directions

  • Phone:  (765) 423-9225
  • Fax:  (765) 423-9203
  • Personnel Directory
  • Hours: Monday through Friday
    8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Site Design and Content © 2015 Tippecanoe County, Indiana
Site Design and Content Management System eGov Strategies LLC