• Latest News
  • Agendas & Minutes
  • Upcoming Meetings
  • Useful Links
Tippecanoe County Board of Commissioners
President, Thomas Murtaugh District 3
Vice President, David Byers District 2
Tracy Brown District 1
Click here to view map of 2015 County Commissioner Districts
Welcome to Tippecanoe County!

The Commissioners serve as the executive and legislative body of county government. We are responsible for maintenance of county property and facilities. We execute contracts, authorize payments of claims, establish personnel policies and authorize drainage and highway infrastructure improvements on behalf of the county. In addition, we make appointments to various departments and committees within the county. We also create and enforce ordinances for the county.

We meet most first and third Mondays at 10:00 a.m. in the Tippecanoe Room of the County Office Building in Lafayette to conduct official business. Our meetings are open to the public and we encourage all interested persons to attend our meetings and share their thoughts and opinions.

We encourage you to explore our website. If there's information you'd like to see that we haven't included, tell us! Your feedback is appreciated.


Proposed 2014 Off-Road Vehicle Draft Ordinance was heard at the 4/21/14 Commissioners' Meeting and voted down 3-0 on the First Reading.


Ordinance 2013-25-CM Regulating the Use of Consumer Fireworks was amended 8/19/13. As amended, the Ordinance applies only to the Adjusted Urban Area Boundary of Tippecanoe County. The amended Ordinance passed on 2nd reading September 16, 2013. Click on the following link to view the map: Fireworks Ordinance Adjusted Urban Area Boundary


Ordinance 2014-08-CM Prohibition of Quarries in Residential Areas passed 2 to 0 on Second Reading at 7/07/14 Commissioners' Meeting. 


Resolution 2014-17-CM passed 3 to 0 at the 10/06/14 Commissioners' Meeting, establishing the intent to conduct a Commissioners' Sale to sell tax sale certificates for properties that are severely delinquent in a payment of property taxes.


2014-24-CM Animal Control Ordinance passed 3-0 on the second and final reading at the 12/15/14 Commissioners' Meeting.


Contact Us

County Office Building
1st Floor
20 N 3rd St
1st Floor
Lafayette, IN 47901
Get Directions

  • Phone:  (765) 423-9215
  • Fax:  (765) 423-9196
  • Personnel Directory
  • Hours: Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Site Design and Content © 2015 Tippecanoe County, Indiana
Site Design and Content Management System eGov Strategies LLC