Birth & Death Certificates


VITAL RECORDS IS LOCATED AT 629 N 6TH ST LAFAYETTE,IN 47901


Certificates & Fees


The Vital Records Division provides birth and death information only for Tippecanoe County, Indiana from 1882 to present. If you have questions about how to obtain a Birth Certificate, Death Certificate, or Genealogical Research, please contact the Vital Records Staff at 765-423-9221, ext. 4. Warning: False application, altering, mutilating or counterfeiting Indiana Birth or Death Certificates is a criminal offense under Indiana Code 16-37-1-12. Customer support for ordering assistance and status inquires available at 765-423-9221, ext. 4.

How to Apply for a Birth Certificate


You may apply in person, through the mail, or online. Most transactions take approximately 5 minutes in person. If applying in person;

WE ARE LOCATED AT 629 N 6TH ST LAFAYETTE,IN 47901 you will receive the birth certificate at that time; if you have all the required documentation (see chart below). Our office hours are Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4:15 p.m., except on holidays. We do not close for lunch. All credit/debit card transactions will be processed with a $2.50 convenience fee. 

How are we doing?
Tell us Here:

Fees & Requirements


  • Birth Certificates: $10 per copy
    Regular size (half sheet size)
    Identification is required
  • Death Certificates: $13 per copy 
    Identification is required
    Corrections must be made by the funeral home that provided the service
  • Please contact the funeral home you are working with directly for any delay in receiving death certificates.
  • Copy of a filed Paternity Affidavit: $5 per copy, Identification is required


 Identification


Due to increased identity theft and fraudulent use of documents, in order to obtain a birth and/or death certificate, you will need specific documentation at the time of issuance. The following chart explains the documentation:
Relationship Documentation
I am Getting my own Birth Certificate Please Provide One of the following: Your Valid (Non-Expired) Driver's License, Passport or Matricula Card
I am the Mother Please Provide One of the following: Your Valid (Non-Expired) Driver's License, Passport or Matricula Card
I am the Father Please Provide One of the following: Your Valid (Non-Expired) Driver's License, Passport or Matricula Card
I am the Grandparent Please Provide Your Valid ID and Birth Certificate of the Parent You are Related to
I am the Guardian Please Provide Your Valid ID and Guardianship Papers
I am the Brother or Sister Please Provide Your Valid ID and Your Birth Certificate
I am the Son or Daughter Please Provide Your Valid ID and Your Birth Certificate
I am the Husband or Wife Please Provide Your Valid ID and Proof of Marriage (Marriage Certificate)
 I am a Funeral Home Please Provide a Fax or Email from your funeral home to notify the Health Department. 


Applying Online

Tippecanoe County Health Department has partnered with VitalChek Network Inc for online orders. You can apply on the link below or by phone. 
By web: Click Here

By phone: 888-276-9006

close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
vital



Applying by Mail   

Print and complete the Certificate Application required by Tippecanoe County Health Department for the following documents:

 If mailing your request, send the completed application, fee, and photocopies of accepted documentation to the following address:

 Tippecanoe County Health Department

 Attn: Vital Records Staff

 629 N 6th Street

 Suite A

 Lafayette, IN 47901


 Most requests received through the mail are processed on the day received.

Other Services: Please call 765-423-9221 Ext. 4 for an Appointment for any of the following services. 

  •  Changing a Birth Record: Affidavits and Home Birth Registration are by appointment only and can take up to 30 minutes.
  •  Affidavit Requesting Amendment: $10, identification and 2 documents, 10+ years showing correct information are required (You must make an appointment for this service)
  •  Certified Copy of Paternity Affidavit on File: $5, identification is required
  •  Birth Notification: Free of charge, you will receive the notification in the mail 2-4 weeks after the birth of the child
  •  Home Birth Registration: $25, please call for instructions and to make an appointment
  •  Paternity Affidavit: $25, must file in office with both parents present, identification is required (You must make an appointment for this service)
  •  Paternity Affidavit Upon Marriage: $25, must file in office with both parents present, identification and a certified copy of the marriage license are required (You must make an appointment for this service)
  •  Court Ordered Legal Name Change: Please bring the certified or stamped court order, our office will keep this copy to send to the Indiana State Department of Health www.courts.in.gov